Advertising

Lost Your Contacts From Your iPhone? Here’s How To Recover Them All Easily

Advertising
Lost Your Contacts From Your iPhone? Here’s How To Recover Them All Easily

Have you lost or broken your iPhone? Perhaps you failed an iOS update and out of a sudden all your contacts are gone. You probably spent years building your contacts list and now unexpectedly you’ve lost everything. I’ve been in the same situation as you are now, and I know how frustrating it can be. But don’t worry, I will share with you my story of how I recovered all my iPhone contacts, by following just a few simple steps.

The most common reasons for losing your iPhone contacts

1. Failed updating or downgrading iOS. For instance, when you want to upgrade from iOS 7 to iOS 8 or downgrading from iOS 8 to iOS 7.

2. Your iOS stopped working because you have jailbroken your iPhone.

3. Lost or broken your iPhone.

4. Resetting your iPhone to the factory settings and all data from your phone has been deleted, including your contacts.

Advertising

If you have lost your contacts because of any of the reasons mentioned above, you can recover and restore your contacts from your iTunes backup.

Every time you sync your iPhone with iTunes, a backup is automatically created. DO NOT RESTORE the whole backup with iTunes because you will put yourself in an even worse situation. By restoring a backup with iTunes, you risk losing all the data that has not been saved in your last iTunes backup. This means you might lose photos, SMS, videos and other data that was not on your phone at the moment of your backup. Note that restoring reverts everything to the moment of the backup was taken.

The best way to recover your contacts without losing any other data from your backup is to use a third party application called the iPhone Backup Extractor.

This software application is available for both Mac and Windows and allows you to extract and export different types of data from your iTunes backups, including contacts. Here’s how it has helped me recover all my iPhone contacts, and how you can get your contacts back:

How to recover deleted or lost iPhone contacts

The first step is to download and install the iPhone Backup Extractor Free Edition.

Advertising

The application will automatically check and identify iTunes backups located in your default backup folder, where iTunes usually saves your backups. If you have saved your backup in a different location, you can select the path by clicking the button “another backup folder”.

 

select another backup

    Once your iTunes backup is loaded, you can go to the available data section and click on the blue link next to ‘contacts’. Simply select the path where you want to export your contacts and you are good to go.

    Advertising

    recover contacts from iPhone

      The iPhone Backup Extractor will save you contacts as CSV and also as VCF.

      save contacts as VCF

        I think it’s important to mention that the iPhone Backup Extractor Free Edition allows you to recover only four records. To remove this limit, a Home Edition license is needed. If your backup is encrypted (password protected), you’ll need the Professional Edition license.

        How to put your contacts back into your iPhone

        You can retrieve your iPhone contacts in no time simply by emailing the file Contacts. VCF, extracted with the iPhone Backup Extractor, to your email client on your iPhone.

        Open the email and tap on the VCF attachment. Your iPhone will then ask if you want to import your contacts. Once imported, you should have all the contacts back into your iPhone.

        Advertising

        recover_contacts

           

          I hope you found my guide useful and if you have any questions, please leave your comments in the section below, and I will try to help you get back your contacts.

          Featured photo credit: Ptigarstheone via flickr.com

          More by this author

          Lost Your Contacts From Your iPhone? Here’s How To Recover Them All Easily

          Trending in iOS

          1 20 Must-Have iPad Apps /iPhone Apps That You May Be Missing 2 15 iPhone Alarms That Wake You Up Right Away 3 12 iPhone 6 Tricks You Probably Don’t Know But Should 4 30 Incredible Things Your iPhone Can Do 5 21 Must-Have Free iPhone Apps You Can’t Miss

          Read Next

          Advertising
          Advertising

          Last Updated on November 25, 2021

          How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

          Advertising
          How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

          There comes a time when we may be searching online and don’t want the browser to remember our footsteps. The reasons don’t always have to be what we obviously think of as the main reason; for example, sometimes, you may not want Safari to remember your passwords or prompt you to enter your password when surfing the web.

          Whatever the reason, we may think that we are totally in the clear with Private Browsing on Safari and the other browsers on a Mac. However, a quick Terminal command can bring up every website you’ve visited. How do you do this? Also, how do you clear your tracks for good? We will provide both answers and more today.

            What Does Private Browsing Do?

            When activated, Private Browsing on Safari prevents your browsing history from being kept in the history tab of the application. Along with this, it doesn’t autofill information that you have saved in the browser. In this mode, you essentially become incognito and any references of previous use is essentially hidden when you are in private mode.

            For example: if you are on Facebook or filling out a form and some information or your login is already filled in in the spaces provided, this is called autofill. It’s activated by simply clicking Safari next to the Apple symbol in the menubar and selecting Private Browsing, then clicking “OK” to the prompt.

            Advertising

            The reasons behind private mode differ for each individual. While we won’t go into all of those reasons, one thing that is  important to remember is that private browsing doesn’t forget the websites you visit. As we will see later on, Macs keep a second copy of the websites you visit in either mode. If you are in frantic mode looking for a solution to this, look no further.

            The Terminal Archive

            While Safari does a good job of keeping your search history out of prying eyes in the history tab, there is a less-than-obvious way to view a full list of visited websites on Mac. This is done in Terminal; the command-line emulator that allows you to make changes to your Mac.

            Terminal is located in the Utilities folder on your Mac. Once activated, simply add the command:

            dscacheutil -cachedump -entries Host

            Advertising

            Once you hit “enter”, a list of the visited sites appear. Showing only the domains, the sites appear in a format of:

            Key: h_name :(website domain)ipv4 :1

            However, there’s no need to fear—there is a way you can clear this information from Terminal with a command that’s just as simple.

            Clearing Your Tracks

            Just as simply as you were able to enter the command to view the websites, you can clear the cache that Terminal showed you with the comamnd:

            Advertising

            dscacheutil -flushcache

            As the command denotes, this literally “flushes” the domains from Terminal. This does not prevent the record from continuing to be recorded for future sites, however, so if that’s an issue for you, repeat this process regularly.

            Other Browsers and Private Browsing

            Other browsers have this form of privacy mode for their service. They promise many of the same things as Safari, but they do not have the same Terminal issue due to how this command only presents websites visited on Safari (the browser Macs come shipped with).

            If you use Firefox, you’ll notice that its private mode is also known as Private Browsing. Chrome calls private mode Incognito, while Internet Explorer refers to it as InPrivate Browsing. Opera is the newest to the scene, denoting it as Private Tab. Safari is the oldest well-known browser with this feature.

            Advertising

            As you can see, despite Private Browsing not being 100% private, Terminal allows for your browser to be. In what ways has Terminal helped your life or allowed you to become more productive? Let us know in the comments below.

            Featured photo credit: Benjamin Dada via unsplash.com

            Read Next