⌄ Scroll down to continue ⌄

Last Updated on March 2, 2022

How to Completely Erase Data to Avoid Privacy Leak on your iPhone

⌄ Scroll down to continue ⌄
How to Completely Erase Data to Avoid Privacy Leak on your iPhone

If you’re thinking of selling or trading in your current iPhone ahead of the iPhone 6S’s release, you probably know that you’ll need to wipe your device before a buyer can use it free and clear. Prepping an iPhone for resale used to be almost as easy as hitting a “reset” button in the iPhone’s settings menu. But does a factory reset really erase all your data permanently? Privacy should be a concern to everyone. It is very important to erase the sensitive data from iPhone, iPad or iPod before selling it out to a stranger. So I headed off to Google and searched for what is most ideal for me.

The general method to erase all iPhone data is a factory reset.

To erase your iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch, launch the Settings app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad, tap General, scroll all the way to the bottom and tap on Reset, then “Erase All content and Settings“. Tap on Erase iPhone again to confirm, enter your passcode, and enter your Apple ID password to turn off Activate lock and deactivate“Find my iPhone” if enabled).

Once the wiping process is complete, you might think that setup as a new device, restore from a different backup, or give or sell your device to someone else without worries.

⌄ Scroll down to continue reading article ⌄

⌄ Scroll down to continue reading article ⌄

That is not the long and short of it since I wanted more than simply being assured that it is okay.

The truth is that I later discovered that performing Factory resets on iPhone are simply not enough to remove your data. You need more. And perhaps a professional destroyer would do so as to ensure your information is safe regardless of whose hand it later falls into.

Highly effective way to Permanently erase Data From iPhone

iMyfone Umate Pro(available for Mac and Windows)  is one of the best tools to completely overwrite the original contents of your iPhone to make it permanently deleted. It utilizes 3 “erase mode” to delete your various data permanently. With this software, you can be rest assured that your data will not get into the wrong hands especially even if the phone is sold or even if iPhone data recovery software is used on it. Any data erased by iMyfone Umate Pro is permanently deleted.

⌄ Scroll down to continue reading article ⌄

⌄ Scroll down to continue reading article ⌄

Moreover, there are three security levels for data wiping: low, medium, high level, you can choose the mode suitable for you. The whole erasing process takes more time for a higher level.

Follow the below steps to erase all content and settings iPhone:

1: Download and run iMyfone Umate Pro from the given link [Windows| Mac]on your computer, then connect your iPhone.

⌄ Scroll down to continue reading article ⌄
⌄ Scroll down to continue reading article ⌄

2: Choose the mode “Erase All Data”.

3: Click the button Erase, the program will start to analyzing your device. Please do not disconnect your device during the scan.

  1. When the scan is finished, start erasing the data.Type Delete into the box that appears and confirms your intention.

The erasing process will take some time, so you’d better grab a coffee and do not operate your iPhone during the process, When the process is gone, then your private data is completely gone and can’t be recovered by any data recovery tool, even iMyfone’s D-Back.

⌄ Scroll down to continue reading article ⌄
⌄ Scroll down to continue reading article ⌄

Please be noted that “Find my iPhone” must be disabled in order to make the erasing process to be successful. Head over to Settings -> iCloud-> Find My iPhone-> Switch Find My iPhone to Off-> Enter your Apple ID password to turn off.

If you think it’s overkill to wiping your iPhone completely, you can selectively erase certain files to make sure they are completely gone by moving forward to “Erase Deleted Files” or “Eraser Private Data”.

Functional Features Offered by the software

⌄ Scroll down to continue reading article ⌄
⌄ Scroll down to continue reading article ⌄
  • Erase all kinds of iPhone files, including messages, photos, videos, contacts, Safari history etc
  • Find and erase previously deleted files permanently
  • Permanently delete current iPhone data so that it cannot be restored
  • Completely erase all data on iPhone to make it as a new one
  • 1-click to clear up your iPhone to save huge space for your iPhone

Featured photo credit: https://picjumbo.com/download/?d=HNCK3991.jpg&n=workspace-desk-from-above via picjumbo.com

More by this author

Casey Imafidon

Specialized in motivation and personal growth, providing advice to make readers fulfilled and spurred on to achieve all that they desire in life.

How to Completely Erase Data to Avoid Privacy Leak on your iPhone
How to Completely Erase Data to Avoid Privacy Leak on your iPhone
5 Tools To Better Manage the Files On Your iOS device
5 Tools To Better Manage the Files On Your iOS device
10 Reasons Why Coffee Drinkers Are More Likely To Be Successful
10 Reasons Why Coffee Drinkers Are More Likely To Be Successful
8 Reasons Risk Takers Are More Likely To Be Successful
8 Reasons Risk Takers Are More Likely To Be Successful
How to Form Your Success Formula to Get Unstuck in Life
How to Form Your Success Formula to Get Unstuck in Life

Trending in iOS

1 10 Must-Have iPhone and iPad Apps for Designers 2 The Complete Guide to iPhone Photography 3 How to Completely Erase Data to Avoid Privacy Leak on your iPhone 4 5 Tools To Better Manage the Files On Your iOS device 5 7 Best Instant Messaging Apps for iOS Devices

Read Next

Advertising
Advertising

Explore the Full Life Framework

Advertising
Advertising