Advertising

5 Ways to Free up iCloud Storage on Your iPhone

Advertising
5 Ways to Free up iCloud Storage on Your iPhone

It’s such a frustrating thing for iPhone users, especially 16GB iPhone users to meet the “Not enough storage” issue when they use iCloud for further backup.

If iPhone users run out of iCloud storage, their device won’t backup to iCloud. New photos and videos won’t upload to iCloud Photo Library. iCloud Drive and other iCloud apps won’t update across their devices. They aren’t able to send or receive messages with their iCloud email address.

Therefore, it’s necessary for people to learn how to free up iCloud storage on their iPhone/iPad.

Advertising

1. Delete Old iCloud Backups

When you backup your iPhone to iCloud, the most important data on your device, like documents, photos, and videos, etc. will be backed up automatically. You can delete backups and turn off Backup for your device. Please note that if you choose to delete the iCloud backup for your iOS device, iCloud will stop automatically backing up the device. Instead of backing up your iOS device to iCloud, you can back up your device using iTunes.

1. Go to Settings > General > Storage & iCloud Usage.
2. Under iCloud, tap Manage Storage.
3. Tap the name of your device.
4. Tap Delete Backup > Turn Off & Delete.

2. Reduce the Size of iCloud Photo Library

If you use iCloud Photo Library, you can free up your iOS device’s storage by deleting photos and videos that you don’t want to store on your device all the time. After deleting, you can recover the deleted photos and videos from your ‘Recently Deleted album’ for 30 days.

Advertising

If you want to remove content from your Recently Deleted album faster, tap Select, then select the items you want to remove. Tap Delete > Delete. If you exceed your iCloud storage limit, your device immediately removes any photos and videos you delete and they won’t be available for recovery in your Recently Deleted album.

3. Reduce the Size of Photo Library

If you don’t use iCloud Photo Library, your Camera Roll will be part of your iCloud backup. To check the size of the backup on your device in iOS 8 or later, tap Settings > iCloud > Storage > Manage Storage. (If you’re using an earlier version of iOS, tap Settings > iCloud > Storage & Backup > Manage Storage.) Then tap the name of your iOS device. The backup size is under Photo Library.

You can transfer photos and videos to PC  and delete them on iPhone to reduce the size of your Photo Library backup, then back up your iOS device manually. If you want to keep the photos and videos on your iOS device, just turn off Photo Library in Backup with the steps mentioned. And just delete those unnecessary photos.

Advertising

4. Delete Emails in Your iCloud

You can also delete email messages from your iCloud email account to free up and manage iCloud storage space. If you have some important emails, you can also move email messages from your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch to your Mac or PC, where they no longer count against your iCloud storage. Use the steps below to delete messages from your account.

If your iPhone is configured to access iCloud email, you can delete messages from any mailbox, then empty the Trash to free up space:

1. Swipe left across any message to delete it.

Advertising

2. Tap your Trash folder.

3. Delete messages one at a time or delete all of them by tapping Edit, then tapping Delete All.

Method 5. Upgrade Your iCloud Storage Plan

Apple only provides free 5GB for iPhone users. If 5GB for free is not nearly enough for you, you can buy more.

Advertising

Apple offers three choices for you. 50GB, 200 GB and 1 TB costing $0.99, $2.99 and $9.99 respectively for one month.

Tap on Setting > iCloud > Storage, then you can tap on Buy More Storage and choose the plan that works for you.

More by this author

Echo Brown

Web Editor

7 Methods to Fix iPhone Not Ringing Problem The Easiest Way To Transfer Videos From Computer to iPhone Top 10 Christmas Songs Recommended for 2016 Christmas 5 Ways to Free up iCloud Storage on Your iPhone How to Free Up Storage Space on iPhone before Upgrading to iOS 10

Trending in iOS

1 20 Must-Have iPad Apps /iPhone Apps That You May Be Missing 2 15 iPhone Alarms That Wake You Up Right Away 3 12 iPhone 6 Tricks You Probably Don’t Know But Should 4 30 Incredible Things Your iPhone Can Do 5 21 Must-Have Free iPhone Apps You Can’t Miss

Read Next

Advertising
Advertising

Last Updated on November 25, 2021

How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

Advertising
How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

There comes a time when we may be searching online and don’t want the browser to remember our footsteps. The reasons don’t always have to be what we obviously think of as the main reason; for example, sometimes, you may not want Safari to remember your passwords or prompt you to enter your password when surfing the web.

Whatever the reason, we may think that we are totally in the clear with Private Browsing on Safari and the other browsers on a Mac. However, a quick Terminal command can bring up every website you’ve visited. How do you do this? Also, how do you clear your tracks for good? We will provide both answers and more today.

    What Does Private Browsing Do?

    When activated, Private Browsing on Safari prevents your browsing history from being kept in the history tab of the application. Along with this, it doesn’t autofill information that you have saved in the browser. In this mode, you essentially become incognito and any references of previous use is essentially hidden when you are in private mode.

    For example: if you are on Facebook or filling out a form and some information or your login is already filled in in the spaces provided, this is called autofill. It’s activated by simply clicking Safari next to the Apple symbol in the menubar and selecting Private Browsing, then clicking “OK” to the prompt.

    Advertising

    The reasons behind private mode differ for each individual. While we won’t go into all of those reasons, one thing that is  important to remember is that private browsing doesn’t forget the websites you visit. As we will see later on, Macs keep a second copy of the websites you visit in either mode. If you are in frantic mode looking for a solution to this, look no further.

    The Terminal Archive

    While Safari does a good job of keeping your search history out of prying eyes in the history tab, there is a less-than-obvious way to view a full list of visited websites on Mac. This is done in Terminal; the command-line emulator that allows you to make changes to your Mac.

    Terminal is located in the Utilities folder on your Mac. Once activated, simply add the command:

    dscacheutil -cachedump -entries Host

    Advertising

    Once you hit “enter”, a list of the visited sites appear. Showing only the domains, the sites appear in a format of:

    Key: h_name :(website domain)ipv4 :1

    However, there’s no need to fear—there is a way you can clear this information from Terminal with a command that’s just as simple.

    Clearing Your Tracks

    Just as simply as you were able to enter the command to view the websites, you can clear the cache that Terminal showed you with the comamnd:

    Advertising

    dscacheutil -flushcache

    As the command denotes, this literally “flushes” the domains from Terminal. This does not prevent the record from continuing to be recorded for future sites, however, so if that’s an issue for you, repeat this process regularly.

    Other Browsers and Private Browsing

    Other browsers have this form of privacy mode for their service. They promise many of the same things as Safari, but they do not have the same Terminal issue due to how this command only presents websites visited on Safari (the browser Macs come shipped with).

    If you use Firefox, you’ll notice that its private mode is also known as Private Browsing. Chrome calls private mode Incognito, while Internet Explorer refers to it as InPrivate Browsing. Opera is the newest to the scene, denoting it as Private Tab. Safari is the oldest well-known browser with this feature.

    Advertising

    As you can see, despite Private Browsing not being 100% private, Terminal allows for your browser to be. In what ways has Terminal helped your life or allowed you to become more productive? Let us know in the comments below.

    Featured photo credit: Benjamin Dada via unsplash.com

    Read Next