Advertising

4 Chrome Extensions To Protect Online Privacy

Advertising
4 Chrome Extensions To Protect Online Privacy

Google’s Chrome browser has many powerful extensions to enhance and secure your browsing experience. If Chrome is your default browser, you should install the following four extensions to protect your online privacy:

Disconnect

Disconnect

    Disconnect curates and blocks third-party resources involved in tracking user’s browsing activities across multiple sites and web apps. As the redundant resources are blocked, web pages load faster. It also visualizes the blocked tracking resources, and hence saved time & bandwidth.

    Do Not Track for Chrome

    Do not track

      Do-Not-Track is an opt-out mechanism which lets users set their own preferences. Although Chrome has built-in settings to enable or disable the Do-Not-Track HTTP header, you can install this tiny extension to enable it quickly without messing up the browser settings. Sadly, the Do-Not-Track preferences are ignored by many big companies including Google and Facebook.

      Keep My Opt-Outs

      Keep My Opt-Outs

        This extension has been developed and maintained by Google, and enables users to opt-out of personalized advertising and behavioral data tracking. It is probably the best way to opt out of online behavioral advertising methods used by many companies, which show advertisements on the basis of user’s browsing and search history.

        Don’t Track Me Google

        Don't track me Google

          Whenever you search and click any result link on Google, your click is recorded by Google for measuring link conversion, and may be for other undisclosed statistics. This small but quite useful extension, Don’t Track Me Google, removes Google’s tracking URLs and hides the referral information.

          More by this author

          4 Chrome Extensions To Protect Online Privacy Best Free Resources To Learn JavaScript How to Reset Chrome Browser 3 Easy Ways To Access Blocked Sites

          Trending in Technology

          1 How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private 2 20 Must-Have iPad Apps /iPhone Apps That You May Be Missing 3 Finally, 20 Productivity Apps That Will Ensure Efficiency 4 8 Useful Apps Every Learner Should Not Miss 5 Protecting Your Online Life With Secure Passwords

          Read Next

          Advertising
          Advertising

          Last Updated on November 25, 2021

          How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

          Advertising
          How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

          There comes a time when we may be searching online and don’t want the browser to remember our footsteps. The reasons don’t always have to be what we obviously think of as the main reason; for example, sometimes, you may not want Safari to remember your passwords or prompt you to enter your password when surfing the web.

          Whatever the reason, we may think that we are totally in the clear with Private Browsing on Safari and the other browsers on a Mac. However, a quick Terminal command can bring up every website you’ve visited. How do you do this? Also, how do you clear your tracks for good? We will provide both answers and more today.

            What Does Private Browsing Do?

            When activated, Private Browsing on Safari prevents your browsing history from being kept in the history tab of the application. Along with this, it doesn’t autofill information that you have saved in the browser. In this mode, you essentially become incognito and any references of previous use is essentially hidden when you are in private mode.

            For example: if you are on Facebook or filling out a form and some information or your login is already filled in in the spaces provided, this is called autofill. It’s activated by simply clicking Safari next to the Apple symbol in the menubar and selecting Private Browsing, then clicking “OK” to the prompt.

            Advertising

            The reasons behind private mode differ for each individual. While we won’t go into all of those reasons, one thing that is  important to remember is that private browsing doesn’t forget the websites you visit. As we will see later on, Macs keep a second copy of the websites you visit in either mode. If you are in frantic mode looking for a solution to this, look no further.

            The Terminal Archive

            While Safari does a good job of keeping your search history out of prying eyes in the history tab, there is a less-than-obvious way to view a full list of visited websites on Mac. This is done in Terminal; the command-line emulator that allows you to make changes to your Mac.

            Terminal is located in the Utilities folder on your Mac. Once activated, simply add the command:

            dscacheutil -cachedump -entries Host

            Advertising

            Once you hit “enter”, a list of the visited sites appear. Showing only the domains, the sites appear in a format of:

            Key: h_name :(website domain)ipv4 :1

            However, there’s no need to fear—there is a way you can clear this information from Terminal with a command that’s just as simple.

            Clearing Your Tracks

            Just as simply as you were able to enter the command to view the websites, you can clear the cache that Terminal showed you with the comamnd:

            Advertising

            dscacheutil -flushcache

            As the command denotes, this literally “flushes” the domains from Terminal. This does not prevent the record from continuing to be recorded for future sites, however, so if that’s an issue for you, repeat this process regularly.

            Other Browsers and Private Browsing

            Other browsers have this form of privacy mode for their service. They promise many of the same things as Safari, but they do not have the same Terminal issue due to how this command only presents websites visited on Safari (the browser Macs come shipped with).

            If you use Firefox, you’ll notice that its private mode is also known as Private Browsing. Chrome calls private mode Incognito, while Internet Explorer refers to it as InPrivate Browsing. Opera is the newest to the scene, denoting it as Private Tab. Safari is the oldest well-known browser with this feature.

            Advertising

            As you can see, despite Private Browsing not being 100% private, Terminal allows for your browser to be. In what ways has Terminal helped your life or allowed you to become more productive? Let us know in the comments below.

            Featured photo credit: Benjamin Dada via unsplash.com

            Read Next