Advertising

WhatsApp “Call” Feature Available For Android Users

Advertising
WhatsApp “Call” Feature Available For Android Users

If you have an Android device, good news! You can now update your WhatsApp to have a Call feature.

This new feature provides you with a free calling option over your internet connection. You can make and receive calls to all your contacts who have the update installed – though you cannot call emergency numbers. To enable the calling feature you need to have version 2.12.5 or later on your device. The calling option is not yet available on iOS, but it will be released in a matter of weeks. For devices that use a different operation system, this update will be provided at a later time.

Advertising

The WhatsApp call feature is easy to use. When you open WhatsApp you will find three options; Calls, Chats and Contacts. Under the tab ‘Calls’ you will see a list of incoming and outgoing calls, with time and date. To make a call, you open the chat with the person you want to call and simply tap on the telephone button on in the top corner of your screen.

Advertising

WhatsApp

    WhatsApp

      Advertising

      WhatsApp

        When you receive a call, you will see the incoming call screen. You can slide the green button to answer and the red button to decline. You can also tap the message button to decline with a short message.

        Advertising

        WhatsApp

          The question remains whether this new feature will be a success. It has potential since you can call right there from WhatsApp and there’s no need to download a separate app for free, online calls. At the same time, a lot of people already use other apps (and may not have friends using WhatsApp), or have plenty of unused minutes in their plan, so there may not be much point.

          Head over to your Google Play Store to update and tell us if it is really worth it. Are you going to use it? Let us know in the comments!

          Advertising

          Featured photo credit: William Iven via pixabay.com

          More by this author

          Florence Carmen Bukasa

          Florence is a happy wife and passionate writer who blogs about health, love and life.

          20 Amazing Places In Asia You Must Visit At Least Once in Your Life Time 50 Ways To Show Her You Love Her 12 Illustrations To Teach Kids Yoga Poses How To Make Money With Your Hobby Quick And Easy: 20 Homemade Facial Masks That Work

          Trending in Technology

          1 How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private 2 20 Must-Have iPad Apps /iPhone Apps That You May Be Missing 3 Finally, 20 Productivity Apps That Will Ensure Efficiency 4 8 Useful Apps Every Learner Should Not Miss 5 Protecting Your Online Life With Secure Passwords

          Read Next

          Advertising
          Advertising

          Last Updated on November 25, 2021

          How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

          Advertising
          How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

          There comes a time when we may be searching online and don’t want the browser to remember our footsteps. The reasons don’t always have to be what we obviously think of as the main reason; for example, sometimes, you may not want Safari to remember your passwords or prompt you to enter your password when surfing the web.

          Whatever the reason, we may think that we are totally in the clear with Private Browsing on Safari and the other browsers on a Mac. However, a quick Terminal command can bring up every website you’ve visited. How do you do this? Also, how do you clear your tracks for good? We will provide both answers and more today.

            What Does Private Browsing Do?

            When activated, Private Browsing on Safari prevents your browsing history from being kept in the history tab of the application. Along with this, it doesn’t autofill information that you have saved in the browser. In this mode, you essentially become incognito and any references of previous use is essentially hidden when you are in private mode.

            For example: if you are on Facebook or filling out a form and some information or your login is already filled in in the spaces provided, this is called autofill. It’s activated by simply clicking Safari next to the Apple symbol in the menubar and selecting Private Browsing, then clicking “OK” to the prompt.

            Advertising

            The reasons behind private mode differ for each individual. While we won’t go into all of those reasons, one thing that is  important to remember is that private browsing doesn’t forget the websites you visit. As we will see later on, Macs keep a second copy of the websites you visit in either mode. If you are in frantic mode looking for a solution to this, look no further.

            The Terminal Archive

            While Safari does a good job of keeping your search history out of prying eyes in the history tab, there is a less-than-obvious way to view a full list of visited websites on Mac. This is done in Terminal; the command-line emulator that allows you to make changes to your Mac.

            Terminal is located in the Utilities folder on your Mac. Once activated, simply add the command:

            dscacheutil -cachedump -entries Host

            Advertising

            Once you hit “enter”, a list of the visited sites appear. Showing only the domains, the sites appear in a format of:

            Key: h_name :(website domain)ipv4 :1

            However, there’s no need to fear—there is a way you can clear this information from Terminal with a command that’s just as simple.

            Clearing Your Tracks

            Just as simply as you were able to enter the command to view the websites, you can clear the cache that Terminal showed you with the comamnd:

            Advertising

            dscacheutil -flushcache

            As the command denotes, this literally “flushes” the domains from Terminal. This does not prevent the record from continuing to be recorded for future sites, however, so if that’s an issue for you, repeat this process regularly.

            Other Browsers and Private Browsing

            Other browsers have this form of privacy mode for their service. They promise many of the same things as Safari, but they do not have the same Terminal issue due to how this command only presents websites visited on Safari (the browser Macs come shipped with).

            If you use Firefox, you’ll notice that its private mode is also known as Private Browsing. Chrome calls private mode Incognito, while Internet Explorer refers to it as InPrivate Browsing. Opera is the newest to the scene, denoting it as Private Tab. Safari is the oldest well-known browser with this feature.

            Advertising

            As you can see, despite Private Browsing not being 100% private, Terminal allows for your browser to be. In what ways has Terminal helped your life or allowed you to become more productive? Let us know in the comments below.

            Featured photo credit: Benjamin Dada via unsplash.com

            Read Next