Advertising

Instagram Has Launched Its Photo Collage App, “Layout”

Advertising
Instagram Has Launched Its Photo Collage App, “Layout”

Combining multiple photos into one as a collage has been a big trend on Instagram for a while now, so it only makes sense that the popular photo sharing app would launch its very own tool that allows you to do just that. Layout is not a built-in Instagram feature, but a standalone app you’ll have to download separately from the official Instagram app.

The app has an intuitive main tab that lets you get straight to business. Either:

Advertising

  • Choose existing photos from your device to include in your collage
  • Snap a shot through its convenient Photo Booth feature (something most third-party collage apps don’t offer)
  • Instantly preview what your collage will look like in up to 10 different collage templates

The scrolling layout feature, with immediate previews of all sorts of different collage styles isn’t something we’ve seen in other similar apps, making it an obvious top app choice.

Advertising

Screen Shot 2015-03-25 at 3.27.23 PM

    While other collage apps might make you pay for a premium version to unlock additional formats, Layout lets you include up to nine photos in your collage – all for free. The filter options allowing you to view your existing photos via “All,” “Faces,” and “Recents” is a nice bonus.

    Once you’ve added all the photos you want into your collage and found a layout that you like, you can tap to edit it further:

    Advertising

    • Use your finger to drag any of the photos around to reposition
    • Use a two-finger pinching gesture to zoom in or out on any photo
    • Tap “Replace” if you’d like to replace one of the photos with a different one
    • Tap “Mirror” or “Flip” to change the orientation of a photo

    screen322x572

      When you’re happy with how it looks, hit “Save” and then share it to Facebook or Instagram. Saving it will automatically copy it to your camera roll or photo folder on your device.

      Advertising

        Overall, Layout is worth switching to if you’re bored or unimpressed with other third-party collage apps you may have already used. It would be great if the app could feature higher resolution photos – a problem many people have long complained about with regards to Instagram’s main app as well.

        Advertising

        Layout is available for free on iOS devices from the iTunes App Store and it’ll soon be on on its way to the Google Play Store for Android devices.

        Featured photo credit: A man using smartphone while reading via getrefe.com

        More by this author

        Elise Moreau

        Elise helps desk workers lead healthier lifestyles. Visit her website on her profile to get a free list of health hacks.

        Why You’ve Reached the Point of Burn out at Work & How to Deal with It The Benefits And Drawbacks To Your Preferred Sleep Position How Smartphones Are Affecting The Mind And Body Of Your Children Amazing Benefits Of Greek Yogurt (+5 Refreshing Recipes) 15 Free Resources To Get You More Organized In 2016

        Trending in Technology

        1 How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private 2 20 Must-Have iPad Apps /iPhone Apps That You May Be Missing 3 Finally, 20 Productivity Apps That Will Ensure Efficiency 4 8 Useful Apps Every Learner Should Not Miss 5 Protecting Your Online Life With Secure Passwords

        Read Next

        Advertising
        Advertising

        Last Updated on November 25, 2021

        How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

        Advertising
        How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

        There comes a time when we may be searching online and don’t want the browser to remember our footsteps. The reasons don’t always have to be what we obviously think of as the main reason; for example, sometimes, you may not want Safari to remember your passwords or prompt you to enter your password when surfing the web.

        Whatever the reason, we may think that we are totally in the clear with Private Browsing on Safari and the other browsers on a Mac. However, a quick Terminal command can bring up every website you’ve visited. How do you do this? Also, how do you clear your tracks for good? We will provide both answers and more today.

          What Does Private Browsing Do?

          When activated, Private Browsing on Safari prevents your browsing history from being kept in the history tab of the application. Along with this, it doesn’t autofill information that you have saved in the browser. In this mode, you essentially become incognito and any references of previous use is essentially hidden when you are in private mode.

          For example: if you are on Facebook or filling out a form and some information or your login is already filled in in the spaces provided, this is called autofill. It’s activated by simply clicking Safari next to the Apple symbol in the menubar and selecting Private Browsing, then clicking “OK” to the prompt.

          Advertising

          The reasons behind private mode differ for each individual. While we won’t go into all of those reasons, one thing that is  important to remember is that private browsing doesn’t forget the websites you visit. As we will see later on, Macs keep a second copy of the websites you visit in either mode. If you are in frantic mode looking for a solution to this, look no further.

          The Terminal Archive

          While Safari does a good job of keeping your search history out of prying eyes in the history tab, there is a less-than-obvious way to view a full list of visited websites on Mac. This is done in Terminal; the command-line emulator that allows you to make changes to your Mac.

          Terminal is located in the Utilities folder on your Mac. Once activated, simply add the command:

          dscacheutil -cachedump -entries Host

          Advertising

          Once you hit “enter”, a list of the visited sites appear. Showing only the domains, the sites appear in a format of:

          Key: h_name :(website domain)ipv4 :1

          However, there’s no need to fear—there is a way you can clear this information from Terminal with a command that’s just as simple.

          Clearing Your Tracks

          Just as simply as you were able to enter the command to view the websites, you can clear the cache that Terminal showed you with the comamnd:

          Advertising

          dscacheutil -flushcache

          As the command denotes, this literally “flushes” the domains from Terminal. This does not prevent the record from continuing to be recorded for future sites, however, so if that’s an issue for you, repeat this process regularly.

          Other Browsers and Private Browsing

          Other browsers have this form of privacy mode for their service. They promise many of the same things as Safari, but they do not have the same Terminal issue due to how this command only presents websites visited on Safari (the browser Macs come shipped with).

          If you use Firefox, you’ll notice that its private mode is also known as Private Browsing. Chrome calls private mode Incognito, while Internet Explorer refers to it as InPrivate Browsing. Opera is the newest to the scene, denoting it as Private Tab. Safari is the oldest well-known browser with this feature.

          Advertising

          As you can see, despite Private Browsing not being 100% private, Terminal allows for your browser to be. In what ways has Terminal helped your life or allowed you to become more productive? Let us know in the comments below.

          Featured photo credit: Benjamin Dada via unsplash.com

          Read Next