Advertising

How to Backup and Download Your Instagram Photos

Advertising
How to Backup and Download Your Instagram Photos

If you use Instagram, you may want to backup or download your instagram photos. There’s a bit of a furore currently ongoing with instagram. Yesterday, they updated their terms of use and it appears as if they will be able to have the rights to sell any photos uploaded to instagram without your permission and without the need to share any of the revenue earned from it. This has caused a bit of stink, and they have since apologized stating that they used confusing language and that they will update their updated terms of use.

What’s of practical use, irrelevant of whether you are angered, ambivalent or just don’t care about what’s happening with instagram’s policy update,  is the ability to download and backup your instagram photos. You never know when you just want to be able to grab those photos for other uses, whether you want to retouch them, or edit them on your computer for other purposes. so here’s a quick how to guide to show you how to download your instagram photos.

Instaport.me

It’s a 2 step process. Connect your account, then select “download .zip file”. Future options will include transferring it to Facebook, Flickr or Rss

Advertising

Instaport.me

    There are some advanced options where you can select which photos to download based on the last number of photos, photos taken between certain dates, or photos tagged with a specific hashtag.

    Advertising

    InstagramDownloader

    For those who have windows machines and don’t want to use a website to help you, there is InstagramDownloader. SImply, download the  rar file. Unzip it, and run the instagramdownloader exe file. Then follow the onscreen prompts to download all your files.

    Copygram

    Copygram has a backup photos feature.

    Advertising

    Screen shot 2012-12-19 at 10.00.53 AM

       

      Sign in ore create an account that links to your instagram account. Press the Back up photos option. Type in the email where you wish your photos to be sent.

      Instarchive

      Advertising

      Instarchive

        To use Instarchive – Connect with instagram, then click “Download as a Zip FIle”.. As simple as that

         

        More by this author

        Hoi Wan

        Hoi is a mobilist who blogs about technology trends and productivity.

        32 Inspirational Songs that Keep You Motivated for Life How to Use the S.M.A.R.T. Approach to Achieve Your Resolutions Vitamins Cheat Sheet: What They Do and Good Food Sources [Infographic] Nutrition: Minerals Cheat Sheet & Food Sources [Infographic] The Best Body Hacks You Should Know About

        Trending in Technology

        1 How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private 2 20 Must-Have iPad Apps /iPhone Apps That You May Be Missing 3 Finally, 20 Productivity Apps That Will Ensure Efficiency 4 8 Useful Apps Every Learner Should Not Miss 5 Protecting Your Online Life With Secure Passwords

        Read Next

        Advertising
        Advertising

        Last Updated on November 25, 2021

        How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

        Advertising
        How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

        There comes a time when we may be searching online and don’t want the browser to remember our footsteps. The reasons don’t always have to be what we obviously think of as the main reason; for example, sometimes, you may not want Safari to remember your passwords or prompt you to enter your password when surfing the web.

        Whatever the reason, we may think that we are totally in the clear with Private Browsing on Safari and the other browsers on a Mac. However, a quick Terminal command can bring up every website you’ve visited. How do you do this? Also, how do you clear your tracks for good? We will provide both answers and more today.

          What Does Private Browsing Do?

          When activated, Private Browsing on Safari prevents your browsing history from being kept in the history tab of the application. Along with this, it doesn’t autofill information that you have saved in the browser. In this mode, you essentially become incognito and any references of previous use is essentially hidden when you are in private mode.

          For example: if you are on Facebook or filling out a form and some information or your login is already filled in in the spaces provided, this is called autofill. It’s activated by simply clicking Safari next to the Apple symbol in the menubar and selecting Private Browsing, then clicking “OK” to the prompt.

          Advertising

          The reasons behind private mode differ for each individual. While we won’t go into all of those reasons, one thing that is  important to remember is that private browsing doesn’t forget the websites you visit. As we will see later on, Macs keep a second copy of the websites you visit in either mode. If you are in frantic mode looking for a solution to this, look no further.

          The Terminal Archive

          While Safari does a good job of keeping your search history out of prying eyes in the history tab, there is a less-than-obvious way to view a full list of visited websites on Mac. This is done in Terminal; the command-line emulator that allows you to make changes to your Mac.

          Terminal is located in the Utilities folder on your Mac. Once activated, simply add the command:

          dscacheutil -cachedump -entries Host

          Advertising

          Once you hit “enter”, a list of the visited sites appear. Showing only the domains, the sites appear in a format of:

          Key: h_name :(website domain)ipv4 :1

          However, there’s no need to fear—there is a way you can clear this information from Terminal with a command that’s just as simple.

          Clearing Your Tracks

          Just as simply as you were able to enter the command to view the websites, you can clear the cache that Terminal showed you with the comamnd:

          Advertising

          dscacheutil -flushcache

          As the command denotes, this literally “flushes” the domains from Terminal. This does not prevent the record from continuing to be recorded for future sites, however, so if that’s an issue for you, repeat this process regularly.

          Other Browsers and Private Browsing

          Other browsers have this form of privacy mode for their service. They promise many of the same things as Safari, but they do not have the same Terminal issue due to how this command only presents websites visited on Safari (the browser Macs come shipped with).

          If you use Firefox, you’ll notice that its private mode is also known as Private Browsing. Chrome calls private mode Incognito, while Internet Explorer refers to it as InPrivate Browsing. Opera is the newest to the scene, denoting it as Private Tab. Safari is the oldest well-known browser with this feature.

          Advertising

          As you can see, despite Private Browsing not being 100% private, Terminal allows for your browser to be. In what ways has Terminal helped your life or allowed you to become more productive? Let us know in the comments below.

          Featured photo credit: Benjamin Dada via unsplash.com

          Read Next