Advertising

How to Enable Quiet Hours in Windows 8.1

Advertising
How to Enable Quiet Hours in Windows 8.1

Windows 8.1 makes it very easy to configure alerts for all sorts of things. It can beep when you’ve got a new email, bong when you’ve got an upcoming appointment or make all sorts of noises when you’ve not a new call on Skype. All those things are great during normal business hours, but what about those quiet times when you just want to watch your cat videos in peace?

Windows 8.1 implements a new feature called quiet hours that will help you out. 7tutorial’s Ciprian Adrian Rusen explains in a recent article that you can select times where Windows will stifle those annoying alerts and even silence Skype calls to keep things quiet. This is great if you’ve got your computer running all night while you sleep or even during work hours when you don’t want to be bothered.

If you think this feature is as useful as we do, share it with your friends.

quiet hours

    Enable quiet hours in Windows 8.1.

    Original Source – 7tutorials – Introducing Windows 8.1: What are Quiet Hours & How to Configure Them?

    More by this author

    How to Get Power from your USB Port for self-built USB gadgets How to Download an Entire Facebook Album in Just a Few Clicks How to Get Back Chrome’s Old New Tab Page How to Prevent Google From Using Your Name and Face in Ads Bring Windows 8’s Start Screen and Charms Bar to Windows 7

    Trending in Technology

    1 How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private 2 20 Must-Have iPad Apps /iPhone Apps That You May Be Missing 3 Finally, 20 Productivity Apps That Will Ensure Efficiency 4 8 Useful Apps Every Learner Should Not Miss 5 Protecting Your Online Life With Secure Passwords

    Read Next

    Advertising
    Advertising

    Last Updated on November 25, 2021

    How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

    Advertising
    How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

    There comes a time when we may be searching online and don’t want the browser to remember our footsteps. The reasons don’t always have to be what we obviously think of as the main reason; for example, sometimes, you may not want Safari to remember your passwords or prompt you to enter your password when surfing the web.

    Whatever the reason, we may think that we are totally in the clear with Private Browsing on Safari and the other browsers on a Mac. However, a quick Terminal command can bring up every website you’ve visited. How do you do this? Also, how do you clear your tracks for good? We will provide both answers and more today.

      What Does Private Browsing Do?

      When activated, Private Browsing on Safari prevents your browsing history from being kept in the history tab of the application. Along with this, it doesn’t autofill information that you have saved in the browser. In this mode, you essentially become incognito and any references of previous use is essentially hidden when you are in private mode.

      For example: if you are on Facebook or filling out a form and some information or your login is already filled in in the spaces provided, this is called autofill. It’s activated by simply clicking Safari next to the Apple symbol in the menubar and selecting Private Browsing, then clicking “OK” to the prompt.

      Advertising

      The reasons behind private mode differ for each individual. While we won’t go into all of those reasons, one thing that is  important to remember is that private browsing doesn’t forget the websites you visit. As we will see later on, Macs keep a second copy of the websites you visit in either mode. If you are in frantic mode looking for a solution to this, look no further.

      The Terminal Archive

      While Safari does a good job of keeping your search history out of prying eyes in the history tab, there is a less-than-obvious way to view a full list of visited websites on Mac. This is done in Terminal; the command-line emulator that allows you to make changes to your Mac.

      Terminal is located in the Utilities folder on your Mac. Once activated, simply add the command:

      dscacheutil -cachedump -entries Host

      Advertising

      Once you hit “enter”, a list of the visited sites appear. Showing only the domains, the sites appear in a format of:

      Key: h_name :(website domain)ipv4 :1

      However, there’s no need to fear—there is a way you can clear this information from Terminal with a command that’s just as simple.

      Clearing Your Tracks

      Just as simply as you were able to enter the command to view the websites, you can clear the cache that Terminal showed you with the comamnd:

      Advertising

      dscacheutil -flushcache

      As the command denotes, this literally “flushes” the domains from Terminal. This does not prevent the record from continuing to be recorded for future sites, however, so if that’s an issue for you, repeat this process regularly.

      Other Browsers and Private Browsing

      Other browsers have this form of privacy mode for their service. They promise many of the same things as Safari, but they do not have the same Terminal issue due to how this command only presents websites visited on Safari (the browser Macs come shipped with).

      If you use Firefox, you’ll notice that its private mode is also known as Private Browsing. Chrome calls private mode Incognito, while Internet Explorer refers to it as InPrivate Browsing. Opera is the newest to the scene, denoting it as Private Tab. Safari is the oldest well-known browser with this feature.

      Advertising

      As you can see, despite Private Browsing not being 100% private, Terminal allows for your browser to be. In what ways has Terminal helped your life or allowed you to become more productive? Let us know in the comments below.

      Featured photo credit: Benjamin Dada via unsplash.com

      Read Next