Advertising

Asana Levels Up with an All-New Redesigned iPhone App

Advertising
Asana Levels Up with an All-New Redesigned iPhone App

I’ve been an Asana user pretty much since the day it launched. We use it here at Lifehack to manage collaboratively, and while i’ve switched back to OmniFocus for individual task management I still use Asana more often throughout the day due to the nature of my work. But the mobile app has always left me wanting more. It just didn’t handle things nearly as well as I needed it to, and so I avoided using it more often than not.

Well, today the Asana team unveiled the next version of its iPhone app. And it is much improved over its predecessor.

Advertising

They’ve essentially redesigned and rebuilt it from the ground up. In this iteration of the iPhone experience, the focus is around adding tasks quickly – which is what the previous version was lacking. Adding a task to the new Asana iPhone app is both quick and robust in that it offers you the ability to add quick notes, tags, and due dates. You can also add followers to a task and put the task into a project immediately.

Advertising

    The interface flows better as well. The user can now swipe to get back to different Workspaces and Projects, but they can also press navigation buttons as well if they prefer. You can view things in your Workspaces by Project, Tag or People with just a touch of the screen, and you can view all the tasks assigned to you in a quick and easy manner.

    Advertising

      They’ve also improved how the app handles commenting on tasks, which is one of the things that makes Asana work so well as a system. I’m glad they’ve levelled up the feature on the iOS platform.

      The look of the app is more polished as well. It simply looks and feels better, making it more pleasurable to use – which is crucial for a task management app.

      Advertising

        Advertising

        That said, one of the things missing from Asana Mobile is the incorporation of Asana Inbox. I’ve been using that feature more and more as it has really played a huge role in keeping my email inbox from filling up as quickly. Bringing this feature to the iPhone app may be a tall order, but according to Asana’s Kenny Van Zant, “that is not too far behind”.

        All in all, this is a huge step forward for Asana. I used to shy away from using it on my iPhone, but the new interface and overall redesign has made my latest Asana mobile experience a far more efficient and exquisite one.

        More by this author

        Mike Vardy

        A productivity specialist who shows you how to define your day, funnel your focus, and make every moment matter.

        How to Use Travel Time Effectively 4 Simple Steps to Brain Dump for a Smarter Brain What Everyone Is Wrong About Achieving Inbox Zero 35 Quick and Simple Tips for Better Productivity Get What Matters Done by Scheduling Time Blocks

        Trending in Technology

        1 How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private 2 20 Must-Have iPad Apps /iPhone Apps That You May Be Missing 3 Finally, 20 Productivity Apps That Will Ensure Efficiency 4 8 Useful Apps Every Learner Should Not Miss 5 Protecting Your Online Life With Secure Passwords

        Read Next

        Advertising
        Advertising

        Last Updated on November 25, 2021

        How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

        Advertising
        How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

        There comes a time when we may be searching online and don’t want the browser to remember our footsteps. The reasons don’t always have to be what we obviously think of as the main reason; for example, sometimes, you may not want Safari to remember your passwords or prompt you to enter your password when surfing the web.

        Whatever the reason, we may think that we are totally in the clear with Private Browsing on Safari and the other browsers on a Mac. However, a quick Terminal command can bring up every website you’ve visited. How do you do this? Also, how do you clear your tracks for good? We will provide both answers and more today.

          What Does Private Browsing Do?

          When activated, Private Browsing on Safari prevents your browsing history from being kept in the history tab of the application. Along with this, it doesn’t autofill information that you have saved in the browser. In this mode, you essentially become incognito and any references of previous use is essentially hidden when you are in private mode.

          For example: if you are on Facebook or filling out a form and some information or your login is already filled in in the spaces provided, this is called autofill. It’s activated by simply clicking Safari next to the Apple symbol in the menubar and selecting Private Browsing, then clicking “OK” to the prompt.

          Advertising

          The reasons behind private mode differ for each individual. While we won’t go into all of those reasons, one thing that is  important to remember is that private browsing doesn’t forget the websites you visit. As we will see later on, Macs keep a second copy of the websites you visit in either mode. If you are in frantic mode looking for a solution to this, look no further.

          The Terminal Archive

          While Safari does a good job of keeping your search history out of prying eyes in the history tab, there is a less-than-obvious way to view a full list of visited websites on Mac. This is done in Terminal; the command-line emulator that allows you to make changes to your Mac.

          Terminal is located in the Utilities folder on your Mac. Once activated, simply add the command:

          dscacheutil -cachedump -entries Host

          Advertising

          Once you hit “enter”, a list of the visited sites appear. Showing only the domains, the sites appear in a format of:

          Key: h_name :(website domain)ipv4 :1

          However, there’s no need to fear—there is a way you can clear this information from Terminal with a command that’s just as simple.

          Clearing Your Tracks

          Just as simply as you were able to enter the command to view the websites, you can clear the cache that Terminal showed you with the comamnd:

          Advertising

          dscacheutil -flushcache

          As the command denotes, this literally “flushes” the domains from Terminal. This does not prevent the record from continuing to be recorded for future sites, however, so if that’s an issue for you, repeat this process regularly.

          Other Browsers and Private Browsing

          Other browsers have this form of privacy mode for their service. They promise many of the same things as Safari, but they do not have the same Terminal issue due to how this command only presents websites visited on Safari (the browser Macs come shipped with).

          If you use Firefox, you’ll notice that its private mode is also known as Private Browsing. Chrome calls private mode Incognito, while Internet Explorer refers to it as InPrivate Browsing. Opera is the newest to the scene, denoting it as Private Tab. Safari is the oldest well-known browser with this feature.

          Advertising

          As you can see, despite Private Browsing not being 100% private, Terminal allows for your browser to be. In what ways has Terminal helped your life or allowed you to become more productive? Let us know in the comments below.

          Featured photo credit: Benjamin Dada via unsplash.com

          Read Next