Advertising

5 Reasons to label your digital photos on your phone: Labelbox

Advertising
5 Reasons to label your digital photos on your phone: Labelbox

How we used to label photos in the past

    Back when cameras were not digital, labeling photos was a process of writing on the back of the printout. If you owned a Polaroid camera, scribbling on the bottom on the photo was another way to describe what was happening in the photo. However, this is no longer the case. Digital cameras and mobile phones have become the main tools in photography. Looking at photos is now usually online. Labeling photos usually involve writing in the ‘comments’ or description of online sites. If you’re looking at photos from your computer, there isn’t even any comments or descriptions for you to understand or remember what was going on.

     

    Labelbox

    With apps, it’s possible to label photos on your phone, so when you print them out, or share them online, it’s already labelled with artistic flair and with great style. If you’re using your computer, the label is there inside your photo. That’s why we wanted to create a solution and now released a free iPhone app called Labelbox.

    Advertising

    If you are not convinced, here are 5 reasons you should consider labeling inside the photos.

      1. It’s neat and tidy.

      Using a pen means you have to print out the photo first, everyone has to decipher your handwriting, and sometimes it can make the photo harder to see because of the indentations created from the pen. If you make a mistake, it’s not easy to erase. Using labelbox means you can easily place where the text goes and delete it if it looks wrong, no indentation marks either.

       

      Advertising

      2. Stylish and convenient.

      With a pen, style is mostly all about your handwriting. If your on the move when your taking those photos, you don’t have access to your computer or laptop to make those extravagant edits to label. An iPhone app like Labelbox has 8 different tapes and labels providing multiple styles to label your photos and share them wherever you are. It takes 3 actions, Select, Swipe and Type, and the photo is labelled in a stylish, well presented manner.

        3. Self censor your photos.

        It’s not always about labelling, sometimes you just want to share something but keep a face private, yet you want to keep the original for yourself. Easy! Select a black strip, cover the eyes and it’s ready. The original can still be kept intact.

         

        Advertising

        4. Easy to Remember.

        Everyone is on the go, capturing the moment is the in-thing, but when you’re capturing lots of moments, it’s easy to forget what each moment was. Quick easy tagging using labelbox means you can label quickly before you forget, so when you look at the photo later, you already have a cue. Even better if you’re trying to share instantly, labelling it means your friends quickly understand what it is your photograph is saying. When you look at the photo in years to come, the label is a nice reminder of what you was taking.

         

          5. Get Artistic.

          Tapes and labelling is only one use… You can get artistic, creating frames, layering labels, and use it as a pet art project. It makes it more fun to try to think out of the box with creative ways to enhance your photos.

          Advertising

          If you have an iPhone, download Labelbox for free from the app store. Hope you like it!

            More by this author

            Hoi Wan

            Hoi is a mobilist who blogs about technology trends and productivity.

            32 Inspirational Songs that Keep You Motivated for Life How to Use the S.M.A.R.T. Approach to Achieve Your Resolutions Vitamins Cheat Sheet: What They Do and Good Food Sources [Infographic] Nutrition: Minerals Cheat Sheet & Food Sources [Infographic] The Best Body Hacks You Should Know About

            Trending in Technology

            1 How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private 2 20 Must-Have iPad Apps /iPhone Apps That You May Be Missing 3 Finally, 20 Productivity Apps That Will Ensure Efficiency 4 8 Useful Apps Every Learner Should Not Miss 5 Protecting Your Online Life With Secure Passwords

            Read Next

            Advertising
            Advertising

            Last Updated on November 25, 2021

            How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

            Advertising
            How to Make Private Browsing on Safari Truly Private

            There comes a time when we may be searching online and don’t want the browser to remember our footsteps. The reasons don’t always have to be what we obviously think of as the main reason; for example, sometimes, you may not want Safari to remember your passwords or prompt you to enter your password when surfing the web.

            Whatever the reason, we may think that we are totally in the clear with Private Browsing on Safari and the other browsers on a Mac. However, a quick Terminal command can bring up every website you’ve visited. How do you do this? Also, how do you clear your tracks for good? We will provide both answers and more today.

              What Does Private Browsing Do?

              When activated, Private Browsing on Safari prevents your browsing history from being kept in the history tab of the application. Along with this, it doesn’t autofill information that you have saved in the browser. In this mode, you essentially become incognito and any references of previous use is essentially hidden when you are in private mode.

              For example: if you are on Facebook or filling out a form and some information or your login is already filled in in the spaces provided, this is called autofill. It’s activated by simply clicking Safari next to the Apple symbol in the menubar and selecting Private Browsing, then clicking “OK” to the prompt.

              Advertising

              The reasons behind private mode differ for each individual. While we won’t go into all of those reasons, one thing that is  important to remember is that private browsing doesn’t forget the websites you visit. As we will see later on, Macs keep a second copy of the websites you visit in either mode. If you are in frantic mode looking for a solution to this, look no further.

              The Terminal Archive

              While Safari does a good job of keeping your search history out of prying eyes in the history tab, there is a less-than-obvious way to view a full list of visited websites on Mac. This is done in Terminal; the command-line emulator that allows you to make changes to your Mac.

              Terminal is located in the Utilities folder on your Mac. Once activated, simply add the command:

              dscacheutil -cachedump -entries Host

              Advertising

              Once you hit “enter”, a list of the visited sites appear. Showing only the domains, the sites appear in a format of:

              Key: h_name :(website domain)ipv4 :1

              However, there’s no need to fear—there is a way you can clear this information from Terminal with a command that’s just as simple.

              Clearing Your Tracks

              Just as simply as you were able to enter the command to view the websites, you can clear the cache that Terminal showed you with the comamnd:

              Advertising

              dscacheutil -flushcache

              As the command denotes, this literally “flushes” the domains from Terminal. This does not prevent the record from continuing to be recorded for future sites, however, so if that’s an issue for you, repeat this process regularly.

              Other Browsers and Private Browsing

              Other browsers have this form of privacy mode for their service. They promise many of the same things as Safari, but they do not have the same Terminal issue due to how this command only presents websites visited on Safari (the browser Macs come shipped with).

              If you use Firefox, you’ll notice that its private mode is also known as Private Browsing. Chrome calls private mode Incognito, while Internet Explorer refers to it as InPrivate Browsing. Opera is the newest to the scene, denoting it as Private Tab. Safari is the oldest well-known browser with this feature.

              Advertising

              As you can see, despite Private Browsing not being 100% private, Terminal allows for your browser to be. In what ways has Terminal helped your life or allowed you to become more productive? Let us know in the comments below.

              Featured photo credit: Benjamin Dada via unsplash.com

              Read Next